Posted in Poetry

I am a Doll

When I was a toddler
My parents bought me toys
That I could hold and stop crying
It was easy to distract my mind
I was too young to understand
But, what, if’s and why’s
That life holds with sigh
Once they bought me a doll when I was tiny
 I still remember I named her Jennie
She was cute and cuddly my plastic buddy
Her hair was curly
She could speak and pee like other human beings
Oh! I was too innocent to understand that she had a machine in her tummy
My mother used to press that button and made her laugh and sing for me
I remember I used to clap and enjoy her laugh
As if whatever I said made her happy
I used to take her everywhere along with me
 I used to talk to her as if she was my only ally
Oh! Now when I recall those moments they sometimes sounds funny
But I found a connection with her
When I recalled my mother’s words to me
You are our doll  my baby
I realize I am born as a doll to them
A gift from God to my parents
Engaging them in some kind of game
That keeps them away from negative human race
Like the way I used to carry Jennie and make her meet my friends
I too was taken along by my parents to meet their friends
Like the way I used to bathe her, comb her hair and keep her clean and beautiful
I realized that I had been treated by my family with the same view
For them I am their Jennie
To make them happy is my duty
I hold love for them in my heart
Cause I am not plastic like Jennie
I am their part
Yes, I too had a favorite doll
Her name was Jennie
I remember when I broke her
I forgot to be dandy
She left but her memory was so uncanny
I see myself as a doll to my family
I make them laugh
I make them forget what’s, if’s, buts’ and why’s of life
When I am in pain
There heart too cries
They pray for my happiness
Cause happiness in me makes them content
I thank Jennie for making me realize that I am like her
I look at myself everyday into the mirror
I smile, because my smile makes my family charmed
I feel proud to be a doll
A doll to my family
I am their Jennie
Author:

I was born up in Delhi and has been living in the city since then; I have completed my graduation from the Delhi University. I come from a respectable and close-knit family. As an individual, my endearing nature and cheerful personality makes me popular among friends. I am an avid reader – I am fond of reading anything to do with spiritualism, psychology, the psychic realm, reincarnations and autobiographies. My favorite authors include Brain Weiss, Paulo Coelho, Brian Tracy, Gary Chapman, Louise Hay and Doreen Virtue, Sudha Murthy, Priya Kumar among many others. I feel my connect with books not only enhances my knowledge but also inspires me. I have put a pen to my thoughts and created book of poems called Love beyond Veils, book of short stories The golden hour and the gang of wonder kids available on amazon and Flipkart I am also fond of music and plays the guitar too. I have keenness in mysticism and the occult – I am a certified Pranic and Reiki healer, Angel therapist, Tarot Card reader and an astrologer. I share a deep love for animals and this is reflected in the fact that I took up the healing courses ostensibly to alleviate the suffering of stray animals. I practice meditation too. Professionally, I began my career with an international airline; then switched to work for diplomatic missions. I sat for the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) exam in 2009 to test and enhance my knowledge in the language.